Another Post about markers!

Last year I did a post about markers, and how I wanted to really dive into that medium. Well I did. I started with a set of cheap Crayola markers, and spent nearly six months working with them. What did I learn?

They are cheap markers for kids!

No but seriously, they are a water-based marker, so I didn’t really expect much. Still I had learned a bit: I learned how to layer, what colors I am into, blending different colors, and how to finesse on paper not meant for water color. By the end of the year, I was determined to upgrade myself to a better set of markers.

*Unfortunately there is not an art store around me, so I had to go digital*

Of course I did the research, and found several brands that I wanted, of course I didn’t have the money to obtain them. Seriously, Copics being as expensive as they are…sheesh.

Originally, I was looking for Touch markers…they were relatively cheap, and I was hoping to get a decent set just to play with. But then…at the top…was a brand called Ohuhu. When I say cheap…40 dual tip markers, for the price of 21.99. With Amazon prime, I didn’t pay for shipping either!

BARGAIN!

Still to be that cheap, I had to go look at reviews. Of course I started with the amazon reviews. They were pleasant enough. A lot of praise definitely. Still, as someone who majored in Public Relations, I know when to smell fishy business. I made sure to check the internet for reviews. Very little (Suggesting that it isn’t a big brand, or at least very recent). Thankfully YouTube had a couple of review videos! This is great to see them in action, and often times sized up to the beloved Copic markers.

From what I saw…they seemed to be decent markers, especially considering how cheap they are.

At the end I decided that they were worth the money, and purchased them (on Friday). By Tuesday I had them with me. It has been two weeks I think

Ohuhu have been an interesting experience. I got 40 markers, dual tip (fine bullet and chisel broad). I have enjoyed them honestly. Because I mostly draw people, I was disappointed in the range of skin tones that I got. I draw mostly POC, specifically black people, so to only get one maybe two shades for black people was a little disheartening, also I didn’t like how warm they are. I do love the more pale skin tone shade I got. It’s actually perfect. I had also been a major fan of what are likely the pastel colors. I am realizing that I need to do better with working with darker colors. Ultimately they were easy to work with, the only issue being they feather easily so you have to really be smart of how you color something. Especially if it is small drawing you are working on.

I know this turned into a bit of a review, but I had been wanting to talk about these markers for the past week. I think working with markers was a wake up call for me. What was once a children’s medium is now such a great way to brighten your work. And with how complex markers have become…it’s amazing to see the different brands and their takes on colors. I am hoping to expand my collection with more markers, hopefully with more dynamic hues.

But for now, my Ohuhu have been more than enough as is.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑